That one time I stayed awake for 25 hours just for sushi and cried…

Oh for good food’s sake I’d do almost anything. That one time during the bbrrrzzing cold Spring in Tokyo, I was awake from 9am till 10am the next day. And mind you, with no wink of sleep. I usually have pretty bad memory for a year but this was sooo biting I could remember it all. It’s like how you’d always remember the time you fell in love… well kinda.

I remembered everything I felt, from the anticipation, excitement, the biting dry cold air, the droopy eyes, ugh everything!!!! Here was what happened…

On the morning of some date in May 2016, I was awoken by a fake human screeching ‘pika pika pikaaaaachuuuu’. Ok fine that was pretty hilarious when it happened. As I slowly started to gain consciousness, I remembered we were finally going to the Tsukiji fish market at midnight!!!! YAY!!!! No world class restaurant can ever beat the freshness of very freshly caught sashimi… every seafood there probably deserved a michelin star ooooh mmmm thinking of the slimy soft salmon and tuna made me tingle with much foodie excitement.

But that’s not the highlight. We planned to somehow stay awake till 2am to snag tickets for the world famous tuna auction at the market. Guides online said that we have to go as soon as the ticket booth was open as slots were as limited as 100 year old men in the world. We HAD to go there, no one has a say it’s my final word.

So ok, we went about our day walking and walking aaaaand walking from 10am till 11pm, where we finally settled at a cafe to wait for 2am to come. Chilled and talk for an hour before everyone started dozing off. UGH SERIOUSLY?!?! Here’s a picture of everyone sleeping and me responsibly awake.

img_7520

At 2 I woke everyone up and we sleepily made our way to the Tsukiji fish market.

We walked past the guard post and wow… the place is so alive at 2ish am in the morning. We were the only foreigners around, annoying everyone in our path. I mean, just imagine 5 wide eyed girls blocking the narrow paths of lanes and getting stared at but I DGAF I came for the Tuna auction who cares what ya’ll think. We explored the place a little but to our dismay we just couldn’t find the place with huge tunas and other like-minded foreigners.

We gave up and decided to settle somewhere else till 4am when the actual auction starts. We headed back to the cafe and they (not surprisingly) dozed off AGAIN while I kept watch. The wifi connection was so bad and I was so damn bored I went outside to pace up and down so that I could burn a few more calories for more food.

YAY it’s 3.50am, I rushed everyone up and brisk walked back to the market. We walked in and still saw no sight of any giant tuna WHAT THE FUCK IS GOING ON!? I looked at the guard post and I stormed right up, asking politely ‘Do you know where is the Tuna auction’, and GUESS WHAT THE EFFING FUCK HE SAID.

‘Sorry, tickets are sold out, you had to come earlier’

What…

In…

The…

Fucking…

WORLD!??!??! **$#^#$*()#&

I was soooooo soooooo soooooo upset I felt little tiny weeny tears form in my eyes instantly. I blinked it back and went up to my friends:

‘Guys, the tickets are… sold… out… we were supposed to have gotten them here………..’

Five symphonic sighs were let out.

We got all the way here, braved the cold and sleep for… nothing. Well, what can I do? We had to wait till morning before the sushi stalls start to open. So then again we had to wait till fucking 6am to taste sushi. I was so damn exhausted and there was no place to go.

Lo and behold, a wild magical Yoshinoya appeared. We went in with no intention to eat but we kinda had no choice cause it was too cold for our thin jackets. Tick tock tick tock. When it was finally 5ish we went back to the market to check out the sushi stalls.

My goodness I was too tired to even eat and savour food properly but we really really had to or I’ll never forgive myself for not having godlike sushi. Anyways, we got there at about 5.15am and STILL had to wait. My friends were all falling asleep as they stood but whatever I HAD to have the sashimi and sushi.

OUR SAD AND TIRED FACES SAID IT ALL

13254533_10153748194681936_9001618454391828348_n13245371_10153748194666936_5297736493481897867_n

 

 

 

 

 

 

When we finally got in and looked at the menu, but those two decided to miss out on world famous sushi… I can’t even…

img_7551

There were different grades of salmon we could choose from and I was broke AF so I could only choose the normal grade and one pathetic piece of the expensive type.

img_7548img_7541

I can’t remember which strand of salmon was the expensive one because, it just wasn’t as memorable as I hoped.

When I took a bite of the salmon, I remembered tasting the soft fragrant rice and silky salmon but I was way too upset and tired to enjoy my meal. I guess looking back it was pretty nice I suppose but the taste didn’t linger on my tastebuds. I think… the market is a big fat scam. Nope, there are other better sushi places around and you there are cheating tourists’ feelings hpmph. The Unagi was really really good though, it’s soooo moist and it doesn’t have the fishy, bony taste of cheap Unagi.

All 25 hours just for this…

NO TO HE O TO THE NO NO NOOOOOOOOO

I lamented for days (and still counting) about missing out the auction, no Youtube video, Mark Zuckerberg’s 3D virtual experience thing will ever make up for it.

Maybe, just maybe, I’ll go back for it one day.

 

Leave a Reply

